Getting your driver’s license may seem like a tough task, but when you know what to do and have the right help, it’s a simple process. Know what to expect as you head into your driving lessons, and you’ll be driving on your own in no time. Every state has its unique process and requirements, and the state of Kentucky has drivers earn their licenses in three phases.
Permit Phase: Before the Test
Drivers can get their permit at the age of 16 by taking a written knowledge test and a vision test. You can prepare for the written test by starting your driver’s ed courses and reading the driving manuals on the Kentucky State Police site. Once you pass this test, you have your permit to take your driving lessons and practice for at least a total of 60 hours. During this time, you cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 6:00 AM and must be accompanied by a licensed adult at least 21 years old.
Intermediate Phase: During the Test
Once you have completed your driving lessons and met the permit requirements, you can take your driving skills test with your county Circuit Clerk’s office. During this test, your examiner will sit in the passenger seat. You will drive in traffic and be directed by the examiner. The test will include stops, backing, turning the car around, stopping and starting on a hill, parallel parking, intersection approaches, clutch use if applicable, speed, turns, lane use, right-of-way use, and overall control.
The intermediate license is held for 180 days, during which you cannot drive between the hours of midnight and 6:00 AM. You must not have more than one unrelated person under the age of 20 in the vehicle at any time. If you receive a moving traffic violation, the 180-day period will restart.
Unrestricted Phase: After the Test
Once you have held your intermediary license for 180 days with no moving traffic violations or without getting six points, you can apply for your unrestricted license. You will need to bring your Graduated Licensing Eligibility Letter from your driving school. Those under 21 are subject to Kentucky’s Zero Tolerance law, which means that driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (0.02 percent blood alcohol content) is prohibited.
You’ll be prepared for your test and for driving safely with the training at Sure-Drive Driver's Training throughout Kenton, Boone, and Campbell Counties in Kentucky. This program will pair you with a professional instructor for thorough and safe driving lessons. All classes are budget-friendly, making learning to drive stress-free and fun. Learn more on their website and call (859) 331-0007 to enroll.