Contrary to what some may think, gluten-free diets do not require you to completely cut out alcohol. If you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, there are several wines, beers, and liquors you may still enjoy without putting yourself at risk of symptoms. The next time you’re in the mood for a drink, consider the following spirits.
A Guide to Gluten-Free Beer, Wine & Liquor
Though most beers contain hops and barley, there are several breweries across the nation that make gluten-free lagers, ales, and even IPAs. Just look for the “GF” label on the bottle, which ensures the product contains less than 20 parts gluten per million. As an alternative to beer, go for hard cider, which is made from apples and is naturally gluten-free.
The majority of wines manufactured worldwide are made from grapes and do not contain gluten. Err on the side of caution by double-checking the details of the aging process, which sometimes include glutenous wheat paste or flour. You might also want to ask whether or not the wine contains any color or flavor additives, as these may sometimes contain gluten. Be particularly careful about drinking port and sherry.
If you’re more of a cocktail person, there are several liquors that are safe and gluten-free, including tequila, rum, and potato vodka. However, you’ll want to avoid scotch, whiskey, and bourbon, since they are grain alcohols, and gluten may remain in them even after distillation. Keep an eye out for gluten-containing mixers, too, such as Irish cream or margarita mix.
For delicious cocktails served according to your diet and taste, make Lancaster’s Lounge & Off-Sale your top destination. Since 1989, this family-run liquor store and cocktail lounge has provided a huge selection of beer, wine, and spirits to the Lincoln, NE, community. Call them at (402) 421-2474 to ask about happy hour specials or place an order for pickup.